Authenticate your bottle

Château Langoa & Leoville Barton

Grands crus classés en 1855 - Saint Julien

FR | EN

Family Story

Thomas Barton1695 - 1780

Thomas Barton had been brought up in Curraghmore, Co. Fermanagh and left his native Ireland in 1722 at the age of 27 years old.

He worked with his maternal uncles Thomas and William Dickson who had considerable trade in France. It was in this connection that Thomas was sent to France, first to Montpellier, then to Marseille. He was not therefore pre-destined to be a wine merchant but when in 1725 he went to Bordeaux with its importance as an Atlantic port, Thomas became interested in wine and soon founded his first company which was later to become Barton & Guestier.

He rapidly created a financially successful business with a regular clientele in Ireland. He was a man of great authority, firm but honest in his transactions ; by 1737 he had already made a small fortune and was well respected in Bordeaux where he became known as “French Tom”. In 1743 he introduced his son William to the business but William was a man of very different calibre to his father and their relations were never of the best.

At this time the French law known as ‘Le Droit d’Aubaine’ stipulated that estates of any foreigner dying in France would revert to the French Crown. Although Thomas had applied for French citizenship, this was not in fact granted until after his death. For this reason he never bought any vineyards in France preferring to invest his considerable profits in property in Ireland.

He did rent an attractive home in the Médoc, Château Le Boscq in Saint-Estèphe, but it was his grandson Hugh who became the first member of the family to actually own a vineyard. Thomas died in 1780 aged 85.

Hugh Barton1766 - 1854

After the death of Thomas Barton in 1780, the family possessions in France and in Ireland were inherited by his only son William whose acrimonious nature led to many disagreements, arguments and legal proceedings within and outside the family. William had nine children, six sons and three daughters.

The eldest sons inherited various estates in Ireland and Hugh, fourth son, became successor to the business in Bordeaux. Hugh was born in 1766. The wine trade had known periods of difficulty and the discord which reigned between William and his family did not make matters easier. Nevertheless when Hugh began his career as a wine merchant in 1786, aged twenty, the turn-over of the family business was estimated at 2,5 million pounds. With Hugh’s energy and inspired direction the company flourished until the Revolution broke out in 1793. In the meantime Hugh had married Anna Johnston, daughter of another Anglo-Irish family in Bordeaux. The 14th October 1793 Hugh and his wife were arrested and put in prison along with other British residents in Bordeaux.

Their property was seized and their future uncertain. William due to his ill-health was allowed to remain at home, albeit under guard. He sadly died on October 23rd before Hugh was able to see him again. Eventually and unexpectedly Hugh and Anna were released on 21st December 1793. They left France for a long period in England and Ireland but Hugh kept in touch with his partners in France and the business prospered to such an extent that he was able in 1821 to purchase Château Langoa and in 1826 a part of the Léoville estate, this part becoming Léoville Barton. In addition he purchased in 1835 some lands in Ireland in Co. Kildare. It was here that he built Straffan House, where future generations of the family lived and where Anthony, the present owner of the vineyards was born in 1930. Hugh continued his successful career until his death in 1854.

Ronald Barton1902 - 1986

Following Hugh Barton, three generations succeeded him as owners of the two vineyards but spent more of their lives in Ireland than in France. It was up to Ronald to become the first Barton since Hugh to make a serious contribution to the French interests of the family. Ronald was born in London in 1902.

Educated at Eton and Oxford, he came to Bordeaux in 1924 and immediately became interested in the affairs of Barton & Guestier, wine merchants in Bordeaux and in the vineyards of Langoa and Léoville Barton in St-Julien. Ronald’s father Bertram Hugh had bought out the interests of his brother and two cousins and was therefore in a position to leave the vineyards in their entirety to Ronald. He divided the shares in Barton & Guestier between Ronald and Derick, his eldest son, who also inherited the estate of Straffan in Ireland.

In June 1940, he hastily left France to join the "Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers" where he became a liaison officer with the Free French forces in England and then in the Middle East and the Syrian campaign.

He returned to France in 1945 to find the vineyards in a very neglected state. With great courage and optimism he restored them slowly but surely to their previous state and made some memorable vintages such as 1948, 1949, 1953, 1955, 1959 and many others. He remained at the helm almost up to his death in 1986. In the meantime in 1983 he donated the properties to his nephew Anthony. Indeed, Ronald has not had a child and wanted to hand over to a member of his family to keep the property left by his ancestor. When the latter wrote to thank him, Ronald replied “Do not thank me, thank Hugh. I have never considered it anything but my duty as custodian of the vineyards to hand them on to my heir in the best possible condition”. This he certainly did!

Histoire de famille - Anthony Barton - Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Fusce consectetur lacus a sapien auctor eu facilisis.
Histoire des vins - La dégustation
Histoire du château - François Bréhant

Authentifiez votre bouteille

Château Langoa & Leoville Barton

Grands crus classés en 1855 - Saint Julien

FR | EN

Histoire de famille

Thomas Barton1695 - 1780

C‘est en 1722, à l’âge de 27 ans que Thomas Barton quitta son Irlande natale et sa ville de Curraghmore dans le comté de Fermanagh, qui l’avait vu grandir.

Il fit son éducation professionnelle avec ses oncles maternels Thomas et William Dickson qui étaient des marchands importants et qui commerçaient déjà beaucoup avec la France. C’est pourquoi il fut envoyé en France, en premier à Montpellier, puis à Marseille. Cette carrière ne le prédestinait donc pas à devenir négociant en vins, mais quand en 1725 il arriva à Bordeaux, l’un des plus important port de la façade Atlantique, il manifesta son intérêt pour le vin et décida bientôt de fonder sa première compagnie qui devint plus tard Barton & Guestier.

Très vite ses affaires devinrent florissantes grâce à ses contacts et fidèles clients d’Irlande. C’était un homme de caractère, intraitable mais honnête dans ses affaires ; dès 1737 il avait déjà amassé une petite fortune et conquit l’estime des bordelais qui le surnommèrent «French Tom». En 1743, il amena son fils William à prendre part aux affaires, mais William n’avait pas l’envergure de son père et leurs relations ne furent jamais au mieux.

A cette époque la loi connue sous le nom de «Droit d’Aubaine» stipulait que tous les biens d’un étranger décédant en France devenaient propriété de la Couronne Française. C’est pour cette raison qu’il ne fit jamais l’acquisition de vignobles en France préférant investir ses importants profits en Irlande.

Il loua une séduisante demeure dans le Médoc, Château Le Boscq à Saint-Estèphe, mais c’est à son petit-fils Hugh qu’il revient d’avoir été le premier membre de la famille à posséder un vignoble. Thomas acheva sa vie en 1780, à l’âge de 85 ans.

Hugh Barton1766 - 1854

Après le décès de Thomas Barton en 1780, les biens familiaux en France et en Irlande furent donnés en héritage à son fils unique William dont la nature acrimonieuse causa de nombreuses mésententes, disputes et procès à l’intérieur comme à l’extérieur du cercle familial. William eut neuf enfants, six garçons et trois filles.

Les fils aînés héritèrent de différentes propriétés en Irlande et Hugh, le quatrième fils, hérita des affaires à Bordeaux. Hugh est né en 1766. Le commerce des vins avait connu des temps difficiles et les querelles incessantes entre William et sa famille n’étaient pas de nature à améliorer ce contexte. Pourtant, quand en 1786 Hugh débuta sa carrière de négociant en vins à l’âge de vingt ans, le chiffre d’affaires de la société familiale était estimé à 2,5 millions de Livres Sterling. Grâce à l’énergie de Hugh et à son efficacité la compagnie fut très florissante jusqu’à la Révolution en 1793. Entre temps Hugh avait épousé Anna Johnston, fille d’une autre famille anglo-irlandaise à Bordeaux. Le 14 Octobre 1793 Hugh et Anna furent arrêtés et incarcérés en compagnie d’autres résidents britanniques à Bordeaux.

Leur patrimoine fut saisi et leur futur était incertain. William, malade, fut autorisé à rester à son domicile, mais sous bonne garde. Il disparut tristement le 23 octobre avant que Hugh ne puisse le revoir. Finalement, Hugh et Anna furent libérés de manière inespérée le 21 décembre 1793. Ils quittèrent longuement la France pour l’Angleterre et l’Irlande mais Hugh maintenait ses relations en France et l’activité prospéra à tel point qu’il fut en mesure d’acheter Château Langoa en 1821 et une parcelle du domaine de Léoville en 1826 qui devint plus tard Léoville Barton. De plus il fit l’acquisition en 1835 de terrains situés dans le comté de Kildare en Irlande. C’est à cet endroit qu’il fit bâtir Straffan House, maison familiale pour les générations suivantes où Anthony, propriétaire actuel des vignobles, naquit en 1930. Hugh poursuivit sa brillante carrière jusqu’à sa mort en 1854.

Ronald Barton1902 - 1986

Dans la lignée de Hugh Barton, trois générations lui succédèrent à la tête des deux vignobles mais ils passèrent la majeure partie de leurs vies plus en Irlande qu’en France. Il appartint à Ronald de devenir le premier Barton depuis Hugh à prendre en mains les intérêts français de la famille. Ronald naquit à Londres en 1902.

Après des études à Eton et à Oxford, il arriva à Bordeaux en 1924 et manifesta rapidement un vif intérêt pour les affaires de Barton & Guestier, négociants à Bordeaux ainsi que pour les vignobles de Langoa et Léoville, situés à Saint-Julien. Bertram Hugh, son père, avait racheté les parts de son frère et de deux cousins et en conséquence se trouvait en position de pouvoir transmettre à Ronald l’intégralité des vignobles. Il divisa le capital de Barton & Guestier entre ce dernier et Derick, son fils aîné, auquel il fit également don du domaine de Straffan en Irlande.

En juin 1940, il quitte précipitamment la France pour rejoindre le “Royal Inniskilling’s fusiliers” où il devint officier de liaison avec les forces françaises libres d’abord en Angleterre puis au Moyen Orient et dans la campagne de Syrie.

ll revint en France en 1945 et retrouva les vignobles dans un état déplorable. Fort de son caractère pétrit de courage et d’optimisme, il les remit patiemment en état et fut récompensé de ses efforts par une série de fameux millésimes en 1948, 1949, 1953, 1955, 1959 et beaucoup d’autres. Il veilla à leur destinée jusqu’à sa mort en 1986, non sans en avoir fait don en 1983 à son neveu Anthony. En effet, Ronald n’a pas eu d’enfant et a désiré passer la main à un membre de sa famille pour conserver le domaine légué par son ancêtre. Quand Anthony Barton, le propriétaire actuel, lui écrivit pour exprimer sa gratitude, Ronald lui répondit «Ce n’est pas moi qu’il convient de remercier, mais Hugh. Simple gardien des vignobles, j’ai toujours considéré que mon devoir était de les transmettre à mon héritier dans les meilleures conditions possibles.» C’est ce qu’il fit !

Histoire de famille - Anthony Barton - Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Fusce consectetur lacus a sapien auctor eu facilisis.
Histoire des vins - La dégustation
Histoire du château - François Bréhant